
2025 Benefit Summary 



2

2025 Benefit Summary

This document is an outline of the coverage provided under your employer’s benefit plans based on information provided by your company. It does not include 
all the terms, coverage, exclusions, limitations, and conditions contained in the official Plan Document, applicable insurance policies and contracts (collectively, 
the “plan documents”). The plan documents themselves must be read for those details. The intent of this document is to provide you with general information 
about your employer’s benefit plans. It does not necessarily address all the specific issues which may be applicable to you. It should not be construed as, 
nor is it intended to provide, legal advice. To the extent that any of the information contained in this document is inconsistent with the plan documents, the 
provisions set forth in the plan documents will govern in all cases. If you wish to review the plan documents or you have questions regarding specific issues or 
plan provisions, you should contact your Human Resources/Benefits Department.
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IMPORTANT: 
If you (and/or your dependents) have Medicare or will become 
eligible for Medicare in the next 12 months, federal law gives you 
more choices about your prescription drug coverage. Please see 
page 30 for more details.
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Benefits Overview
Utah County is proud to offer a comprehensive benefits package 
to eligible, career-service employees* who work 20 or more hours 
per week. The complete benefits package is briefly summarized in 
this booklet. You may request plan booklets, which give you more 
detailed information about each of these programs. 

*Eligible Employees include officials appointed, elected, and 
retained by election.

Benefit Plans Offered
•	 Medical Insurance

•	 Health Savings Account (HSA)

•	 Flexible Spending Accounts (FSA)

•	 Commuter FSA

•	 Dental Insurance

•	 Vision Insurance

•	 Life and Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance

•	 Voluntary Life Insurance

•	 Voluntary Short-Term Disability Insurance

•	 Long-Term Disability Insurance

•	 Voluntary Accident Insurance

•	 Voluntary Hospital Indemnity Insurance

•	 Voluntary Critical Illness Insurance

•	 Employee Assistance Program (EAP)

•	 Voluntary Legal Insurance

•	 Pet Insurance

Eligibility 
Your benefits coverage begins on the first of the month following 
your date of employment.

You and your dependents are eligible for Utah County benefits. 
Eligible dependents are your spouse, children under age 26, and 
disabled dependents of any age.

Open Enrollment
The medical and dental plan year is from January 1, 2025 through 
December 31, 2025. The next open enrollment period will be held 
in November.

During open enrollment, you may enroll in or make changes to your 
benefit programs. Open enrollment is the only time that you may 
add or change benefits during the year, unless you have a 
qualifying life event. Make sure that you understand the offerings 
and enroll yourself and your eligible dependents in the programs 
that you would like for the upcoming plan year. Elections made now 
will remain until the next open enrollment unless you or your family 
members experience a qualifying event. If you experience a 
qualifying event, you must contact HR within 30 days.

Qualifying Events 
The following events allow you a 30-day special enrollment period 
to complete and submit a change request to update your benefits 
outside of the open enrollment period: 

•	 Loss of Dependent Coverage (including spousal coverage 
through employer)

•	 Marriage

•	 Divorce

•	 Birth of a Child

•	 Adoption or Change in Custody

•	 Death

The following events allow you a 60-day special enrollment period 
to complete and submit a change request to update your benefits 
outside the open enrollment period:

•	 You, your spouse, or child loses coverage under either a 
Medicaid plan under Title XIX or under a state child health plan 
(CHIP) under Title XXI of the Social Security Act due to a loss of 
eligibility for that programs coverage.

•	 You, your spouse, or child becomes eligible for premium 
assistance with respect to the cost of coverage under our group 
health plan through either a Medicaid plan under Title XIX (such 
as Utah’s Premium Partnership) or under a state health plan 
(CHIP) under Title XXI of the Social Security Act (see enclosed 
disclosure).

Enrolling in benefit plans during special enrollment periods will be 
allowed according to each insurer’s policies/terms and conditions.



4

2025 Benefit Summary

Medical Insurance
Administered by SelectHealth
Comprehensive and preventive healthcare coverage is important in protecting you and your family from the fi nancial risks of unexpected 
illness and injury. A little prevention usually goes a long way—especially in healthcare. Routine exams and regular preventive care provide 
an inexpensive review of your health. Small problems can potentially develop into large expenses. By identifying the problems early, often 
they can be treated at little cost.
Comprehensive healthcare also provides peace of mind. In case of an illness or injury, you and your family are covered with excellent 
medical plan options through SelectHealth. 

SelectHealth Share — HSA Qualifi ed High Deductible Health Plan
In-Network

Annual Deductible (includes Rx)
Non-Embedded* $2,000 (individual) / $4,000 (two-party / family)

Annual Out-of-Pocket Maximum 
(includes Rx) Non-Embedded* $3,000 (individual) / $6,000 (two-party / family)

Coinsurance 20%
DOCTOR’S OFFICE
Offi  ce Visits (PCP / SCP) $15 AD / $25 AD
Preventive Care Covered 100%
Connect Care –Telehealth $69 copay before deductible is met; Covered 100% after deductible is met
PRESCRIPTION DRUGS
Retail – 30-day supply 
Generic $7 AD
Brand Name Preferred $21 AD
Brand Name Non-Preferred $42 AD
Specialty $100 AD
Mail Order – 90-day supply 
Generic $7 AD
Brand Name Preferred $42 AD
Brand Name Non-Preferred $126 AD
HOSPITAL SERVICES
Emergency Room $75 AD
Urgent Care $35 AD
Inpatient 20% AD
MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES
Inpatient Services 20% AD
Outpatient Services 20% AD
OTHER SERVICES
Maternity Services 20% AD
Chiropractic Services 
(up to 20 visits per calendar year) $15 AD

AD: After Deductible
*Non-Embedded means the plan does not have a lower limit embedded in the plan when only one individual in the family is accessing care. 
Even if only one individual is using the plan, the entire family deductible must be met before copays and coinsurance would apply.  Likewise, 
even if only one person is using the plan, the entire family out-of-pocket maximum must be met before the plan would cover services at 
100% for the remainder of the year.

SelectHealth Share-HSA QHDHP Employee Cost Per Pay Period (24)
Full-Time ¾ Time ½ Time

Employee Only $0.00 $0.00 $164.85
Employee + One $0.00 $0.00 $333.90
Family $0.00 $0.00 $447.38

Career Service Employee Status Defi nition
Full-Time Regularly scheduled 40 hours per week
¾ Time Regularly scheduled 30 –39 hours per week
½ Time Regularly scheduled 20 –29 hours per week

The SelectHealth Med network will be provided to employees living outside the Share network area.
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SelectHealth Share — Signature Traditional Plan
In-Network

Annual Deductible (includes Rx)
Embedded* $1,000 (individual) / $2,000 (two-party / family)

Annual Out-of-Pocket Maximum 
(includes Rx) Embedded* $3,000 (individual) / $6,000 (two-party / family)

Coinsurance 20%
DOCTOR’S OFFICE
Offi  ce Visits (PCP / SCP) $25 / $40
Preventive Care Covered 100%
Connect Care – Telehealth Covered 100%
PRESCRIPTION DRUGS
Retail – 30-day supply 
Deductible $100 Per Person
Generic $15
Brand Name Preferred $30 APD
Brand Name Non-Preferred $50 APD
Specialty $100 APD
Mail Order – 90-day supply 
Generic $15
Brand Name Preferred $60 APD
Brand Name Non-Preferred $150 APD
HOSPITAL SERVICES
Emergency Room $250 AD
Urgent Care $40 
Inpatient 20% AD
MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES
Inpatient Services 20% AD
Outpatient Services 20%
OTHER SERVICES
Maternity Services 20% AD
Chiropractic $20

AD: After Deductible | APD: After Pharmacy Deductible
*Embedded means the plan has a lower limit embedded in the plan when only one individual in the family is accessing care. If only one 
individual in the family is using the plan, the entire family deductible does not need to be met before copays and coinsurance would apply. 
Likewise, if only one person is using the plan, only the individual out-of-pocket maximum needs to be met before the plan would cover 
services at 100% for the remainder of the year.

SelectHealth Share Signature Plan Employee Cost Per Pay Period (24)
Full-Time ¾ Time ½ Time

Employee Only $53.30 $53.30 $218.15
Employee + Spouse $107.85 $107.85 $441.75
Family $144.40 $144.40 $591.78

The SelectHealth Med network will be provided to employees living outside the Share network area. 

Utah County Medical Plan Waiver
Utah County provides a waiver incentive for those of you that have selected other medical plans outside of 
what Utah County off ers. You will see from the graph below, depending on your employment the allotted 
amount you are off ered per pay-period. 

Waiver Incentive Utah County Contributions to Employee’s Paycheck Per Pay Period (24)
Full-Time ¾ Time ½ Time

Employee Only $40.00 $30.00 $20.00
Employee + Spouse $80.00 $60.00 $40.00
Family $80.00 $60.00 $40.00

The waiver incentive is available if you waive medical insurance off ered by Utah County.
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Select Health Share®

About this network
• Includes all Intermountain Health® doctors, facilities, clinics, InstaCare®, and KidsCare® locations within the

Share service area.
• 33 hospitals (including Primary Children's Hospital)
• Over 700 clinics and other facilities
• Over 10,000 providers, including specialists you can see without a referral
• This network also includes access to dozens of clinics and providers who aren't affiliated with

Intermountain Health
• Enrolled dependents who live outside of your service area can receive in-network benefits for covered services

no matter where they live in the U.S. To qualify for this coverage, submit a Dependent Address Change form,
which can be found at selecthealth.org/forms.

Is this network right for me?
• Select Health Share is a great option for members living in Salt Lake, Utah, Davis, Weber, Summit, Wasatch,

Tooele, Morgan, Box Elder, Cache, Rich, Sanpete, Sevier, Millard, Iron, and Washington counties (see the shaded
counties on the map).

• This network is designed to support you in your health journey by providing Healthy LivingSM activities and
reward points for participation. For complete information about the activities and engagements mentioned,
visit selecthealth.org/share/employees.

• If you’re wondering whether your current doctor is part of this network, use the Select Health app or visit
selecthealth.org/findadoctor. Remember to filter your results by the Select Health Value network.

Questions? 
Call Member Services at 
800-538-5038.
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Health Savings Account (HSA)
Administered by HealthEquity

What is a Health Savings Account (HSA)?
A Health Savings Account (HSA) is an account that can be funded by you with pretax dollars, by your employer, or both. The HSA helps pay 
for eligible medical expenses not covered by an insurance plan, including the deductible, coinsurance, and in some cases, health insurance 
premiums.

Who is eligible for a Health Savings Account?
Anyone who satisfies all of the following:

•	 Covered by a Qualified High Deductible Health Plan (QHDHP);
•	 Employee cannot be covered under another non-qualified HDHP;
•	 Not enrolled in Medicare A or Medicare B benefits; and,
•	 Not eligible to be claimed on another person’s tax return.

When do I use my HSA?
After visiting a physician, facility, or pharmacy, request that they submit your claim to the health plan for payment. You should make sure 
that your provider has your most up-to-date insurance information. Once the claim has been processed, any out-of-pocket expenses will be 
billed. At this time you may choose the following options:

•	 Use your HSA debit card to pay for any out-of-pocket expenses.
•	 You may choose to pay with another form of payment, receiving reimbursement at a later date.
•	 You can choose to save your HSA dollars for future medical expenses.

You should always ask that your claim be submitted to the health plan before you seek reimbursement from your HSA. This procedure will 
ensure that provider discounts are applied. Also, remember to keep all medical receipts and Explanation of Benefits (EOBs) to support your 
personal tax record. You should keep these records for at least four years.

Benefits of an HSA
•	 Pay for qualified medical, dental and vision expenses with tax-free dollars.
•	 Lower health insurance premiums with an HSA qualified health plan.
•	 Keep your contributions year after year and watch your balance grow. There is no “use it or lose it” rule. It’s yours.
•	 Invest your balance over the threshold amount to grow your HSA further.
•	 If you participate in the High Deductible Health Plan (HDHP), and contribute to your HSA, you are eligible for a company match.
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How much can be contributed to an HSA? 
As noted by federal law, the Annual Contribution limits are:

Type of Coverage 2025 Maximum Annual Contribution
Individual $4,300*

Family $8,550*

*A $1,000 additional catch up contribution is allowed for account holders age 55+
These limits include contributions from all sources, including those from Utah County.

Employer Contribution
Annual HSA Matching Contribution with the Share Program 

Utah County will contribute to your Health Savings Account on a 1:1 match.
Full-Time ¾ Time ½ Time

Single $400 1:1 $200 1:1 $200 1:1

2-Party/Family $800 1:1 $400 1:1 $400 1:1

Participants are also eligible for additional incentive dollars. See chart below.

By participating in the Share HSA Qualified High Deductible Plan, you may receive additional Utah County contributions to your HSA when 
you complete the activities below, beyond the dollar-for-dollar match. If enrolled in the traditional medical plan, you will receive the incentive 
as a taxable bonus on your paycheck.

Wellness incentive available for Share Engagement - Full-Time

Single
Up to $600

Receive:
•	$100 for completing the online Health Assessment
•	$100 for attendance at the Health Education Screening Event(s) (if you cannot make an event, you can 

go to your healthcare provider for your annual screenings)
•	$300 for completing two Wellness / Activity Campaigns
•	$100 for completing at least one online Digital Health Coaching (Journeys)

Two Party/Family
Up to $1,200

Receive:
•	$200 for completing the online Health Assessment
•	$200 for attendance at the Health Education Screening Event(s) (if you cannot make an event, you can 

go to your healthcare provider for your annual screenings)
•	$600 for completing two Wellness / Activity Campaigns
•	$200 for completing at least one online Digital Health Coaching (Journeys)

Wellness incentive available for Share Engagement - 3/4 Time and 1/2 Time

Single
Up to $300

Receive:
•	$50 for completing the online Health Assessment
•	$50 for attendance at the Health Education Screening Event(s) (if you cannot make an event, you can go 

to your healthcare provider for your annual screenings)
•	$150 for completing two Wellness / Activity Campaigns
•	$50 for completing at least one online Digital Health Coaching (Journeys)

Two Party/Family
Up to $600

Receive:
•	$100 for completing the online Health Assessment
•	$100 for attendance at the Health Education Screening Event(s) (if you cannot make an event, you can 

go to your healthcare provider for your annual screenings)
•	$300 for completing two Wellness / Activity Campaigns
•	$100 for completing at least one online Digital Health Coaching (Journeys)
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Flexible Spending Accounts (FSAs)
Administered by Wex
A Flexible Spending Account (FSA) provides you the opportunity 
to pay for health care and dependent care expenses on a pretax 
basis. By anticipating your family’s health care and dependent 
care costs for the next plan year, you can lower your taxable 
income. 

Flexible Spending Accounts are convenient and easy to use. With 
a little up-front planning, you can enjoy significant tax savings, 
while paying for a wide assortment of out-of-pocket health care and 
dependent care expenses. 

How it Works 
Each plan year you designate an annual election to be deposited 
into your health care and/or dependent care accounts. Your annual 
election will be divided by the number of pay periods in the plan 
year and deducted equally from each paycheck on a pretax basis. 
For health care expenses, you have immediate access to the total 
amount you elected to contribute for the plan year. With the 
dependent care, you have access to the amount requested at the 
time you request reimbursement. 

Things to Consider
•	 Be conservative when estimating your annual election amount. 

The IRS has a strict “use it or lose it” rule. If there is a balance in 
your account after the end of the plan year, you may carry over 
up to $500 to be used in the next plan year.

•	 Your 2025 contributions must be used for expenses you incur 
January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2025.

•	 There is a 60 day run out period after the plan year ends on 
December 31, 2025 in which you may request reimbursement 
from your 2025 elected FSA amount for claims incurred in 2025.

•	 The health care and dependent care FSAs are two separate 
accounts and funds cannot be transferred between accounts. 

•	 The Dependent Care FSA cannot be used for a dependent’s 
medical expenses.

•	 You cannot stop or change your FSA contribution amount during 
the year unless you have a qualified change in family status.

•	 Expenses reimbursed through an FSA cannot be used as a 
deduction or credit on your federal income taxes. 

•	 You cannot be enrolled in an HSA and a Healthcare FSA during 
the same tax year. This includes a spouse’s FSA and/or HSA. 
You are allowed to be enrolled in an HSA with a limited purpose 
FSA and/or Dependent Care FSA.

Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account 
The Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account enables you to 
pay for work-related dependent day care costs with pretax dollars. 
Available regardless of enrollment in the FSA or HSA. 

Limited Purpose FSA 
If you enroll in the High Deductible Health Plan (HDHP) with an HSA 
you are eligible to enroll in a Limited Purpose FSA and will only be 
able to use these funds for qualified dental and vision expenses. 
Common examples of dental and vision expense are: dental 
deductibles, orthodontics and coinsurance. Vision expenses include 
things such as exams, frames, lenses, contacts and Lasik. 

Flexible Spending Account Options

Healthcare FSA Dependent Care 
FSA

Limited Purpose 
FSA

Maximum 
Plan Year 
Contribution 
Amount 

Up to $3,200*

Up to $5,000 
($2,500 if 

married and 
filing separate 

income tax 
returns)

Up to $3,200*

Examples 
of Eligible 
Expenses 

Medical, RX, 
and dental 
expenses, 

hearing 
care and 

prescription 
eye care

Cost of child 
care for 

children under 
age 13

Dental 
and vision 

expenses. Can 
only be used 
for medical 

expense after 
you have met 
the deductible 
on the High 
Deductible 
Health Plan 

(HDHP)

Eligibility
 Traditional 
(Medical  

Plan only)

Either Medical 
Plan

High 
Deductible 
Health Plan 

Only

*subject to the IRS determined maximum

Submit claims for reimbursement online at www.wexinc.com.

FSA Reimbursement Options 
To receive reimbursement from your FSA, you can submit a 
claim online, complete a paper claim form or use your FSA 
debit card. It is important to save your EOBs or itemized 
receipts. Wex will ask you to provide a copy to substantiate 
all claims. 
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Commuter FSA
Administered by Wex
 A Commuter FSA allows you to save taxes on work-related public transportations costs. 

Eligible transportation services include:
•	 Train

•	 Bus

•	 Vanpool (vehicle that seats 6 or more adult passengers)

How it Works
•	 You can set aside up to $315 per month for eligible transportation services.  

•	 Any money contributed is deducted form your paycheck on a pre-tax basis. 

•	 Funds are not pre-loaded in your account so you can only spend what has already been deposited. 

•	 You can adjust your election amount at any time during the year.

•	 Your balance will roll over each month until it is used or you are no longer eligible.
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Dental Insurance
Administered by Delta Dental
Good oral care enhances overall physical health, appearance and mental well-being. Problems with the teeth and gums are common and 
easily treated health problems. Keep your teeth healthy and your smile bright with one of the Utah County dental benefi t plans.

Base Plan 
(Preventive and Basic Services Only) Delta Dental PPO Dentist Delta Dental Premier Dentist Non-Delta Dental Dentist

Annual Deductible $50 individual / $150 family

Annual Benefi t Maximum $1,000

Preventive and Diagnostic Dental Services 
(cleanings, exams, x-rays) 100% Covered 100% Covered 100% of PPO contracted 

fees

Basic Dental Services 
(sealants, space maintainers, simple 
extractions, posterior composite fi llings, oral 
surgery, denture repair / reline / rebase)

80% AD 80% AD 80% of PPO contracted 
fees AD

Major Dental Services 
(endodontics, periodontics, crowns, inlays, 
onlays, cast restorations, bridges, dentures)

No Coverage No Coverage No Coverage

Orthodontia Services No Coverage No Coverage No Coverage

Orthodontia Lifetime Maximum Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable

AD: After Deductible
MAC: Maximum Allowable Charge. Non-contracted dentists may not always accept Delta Dental’s program allowance as payment in full--you would become 
responsible for paying up to the non-contracted dentist’s submitted charge.

Comprehensive Plan Delta Dental PPO Dentist Delta Dental Premier Dentist Non-Delta Dental Dentist
Annual Deductible $50 individual / $150 family

Annual Benefi t Maximum $2,000 per person

Preventive and Diagnostic Dental Services 
(cleanings, exams, x-rays) 100% Covered 80% Covered  80% of UCR

Basic Dental Services 
(sealants, space maintainers, simple 
extractions, posterior composite fi llings, oral 
surgery, denture repair / reline / rebase, root 
canals, periodontics)

80% 60% 60% of UCR AD

Major Dental Services 
(crowns, inlays, onlays, cast restorations, 
bridges, dentures, implants)

50% 40% 40% of UCR AD

Orthodontia Services – 
Children under age 19 50%

Orthodontia Lifetime Maximum $1,500 

AD: After Deductible
UCR: Usual, Customary, and Reasonable. Non-contracted dentists may not always accept Delta Dental’s program allowance as payment in full--you would 
become responsible for paying up to the non-contracted dentist’s submitted charge. 

Base Plan (Preventive and 
Basic Services Only)

Employee Cost Per Pay Period (24) 
(Full-Time, ¾ Time, ½ Time)

Comprehensive 
Plan

Employee Cost Per Pay Period (24)
(Full-Time, ¾ Time, ½ Time)

Employee Only $0.42 Employee Only $3.99

Two-Party $4.92 Two-Party $15.56

Family $9.11 Family $28.13
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Keep smiling 
Delta Dental PPO™

Stay in network to save
Visit a dentist in the PPO1 network to 
maximize your savings.2 These dentists 
have agreed to reduced fees, and you won’t 
get charged more than your expected 
share of the bill.3 Find a PPO dentist at 
deltadentalins.com.

If you can’t find a PPO dentist, consider  
a Delta Dental Premier® dentist. These 
dentists have agreed to set fees and offer 
another opportunity to save. 

Set up an online account
Get information about your plan, check 
benefits and eligibility information, find a 
network dentist and more. Sign up for an 
online account at deltadentalins.com.

Check in without an ID card
You don’t need a Delta Dental ID card when 
you visit the dentist. Just provide your 
name, birth date and enrollee ID or Social 
Security number. If your family members 
are covered under your plan, they’ll need to 

provide your information. Prefer to have an 
ID card? Simply log in to your account to 
view or print your card.

Coordinate dual coverage
If you’re covered under two plans, ask your 
dental office to include information about 
both plans with your claim — we’ll handle 
the rest.

Understand transition of care
Generally, multi-stage procedures are 
covered under your current plan only if 
treatment began after your plan’s effective 
date of coverage.4 Log in to your online 
account to find this date.

Get LASIK and hearing aid discounts
With access to QualSight and Amplifon 
Hearing Health Care5, you can receive 
significant savings on LASIK procedures 
and hearing aids. To take advantage  
of these discounts, call QualSight at  
855-248-2020 and Amplifon at  
888-779-1429.

Save with a 
PPO dentist

PPO PREMIER NON–DELTA DENTAL
1  In Texas, Delta Dental Insurance Company provides a dental provider organization (DPO) plan
2 You can still visit any licensed dentist, but your out-of-pocket costs may be higher if you choose a non-PPO dentist. Network dentists are paid 
contracted fees.

3 You are responsible for any applicable deductibles, coinsurance, amounts over annual or lifetime maximums and charges for non-covered  
services. Out-of-network dentists may bill the difference between their usual fee and Delta Dental’s maximum contract allowance.

4 Applies only to procedures covered under your plan. If you began treatment prior to your effective date of coverage, you or your prior carrier is 
responsible for any costs. Group- and state-specific exceptions may apply. If you are currently undergoing active orthodontic treatment, you  
may be eligible to continue treatment under Delta Dental PPO. Review your Evidence of Coverage, Summary Plan Description or Group Dental 
Service Contract for specific details about your plan.

5 Vision corrective services and Amplifon’s hearing health care services are not insured benefits. Delta Dental makes the vision corrective services 
program and hearing health care services program available to you to provide access to the preferred pricing for LASIK surgery and for hearing 
aids and other hearing health services.

West Virginia: Learn about our commitment to providing access to a quality dentist network at deltadentalins.com/about/legal/index-enrollee.html.

Copyright © 2023 Delta Dental. All rights reserved. 
HL_PPO-PRE #135419J (rev. 1/23) 
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Vision Insurance
Administered by EMI Health with VSP Plus Network
Regular eye examinations can not only determine your need for corrective eyewear but also may detect general health problems in their 
earliest stages. If you have vision hardware needs, consider enrolling in one of Utah County’s vision plans!

These plans may offer in-network and out-of-network benefits. However, to receive the maximum benefits from the plan you should always 
use participating providers. To find a provider, use the respective contact information shown in the back of this guide.

EMI Health Vision Base Plan In-Network (Member Pays) Out-of-Network (Reimbursement)
Eye Exam $20 copay Up to $65 allowance 

FRAMES 
Any Available Frame at Provider 
Location

$0 copay, $100 allowance; 
$55 allowance at Costco, Walmart, or Sam’s Club Up to $70 allowance

LENSES 
Single Vision Lenses $20 copay Up to $30 allowance

Bifocal Lenses $20 copay Up to $50 allowance 

Trifocal Lenses $20 copay Up to $65 allowance

Lens Options
UV Coating $16 copay 

Non-Contracted (Provider Discretion)

Tint (Solid and Gradient) $15 copay

Standard Scratch Resistance $17 copay

Standard Polycarbonate $31-$35 copay

Standard Anti-Reflective $41 copay

Progressive $0-$175 copay

Other Add-Ons and Services Up to 25% discount

Contacts
Conventional $0 copay, $100 allowance Up to $85 allowance

Disposable $100 allowance Up to $85 allowance

Additional Eyewear Purchases Up to 20% off Retail N/A

Lasik and PRK Vision Correction Up to $500 Savings N/A

Frequency 
Examination Once every 12 months

Frames Once every 12 months

Lenses or Contact Lenses Once every 12 months

EMI Health  
Vision Base Plan

Employee Cost Per Pay Period (24)
(Full-Time, ¾ Time, ½ Time)

Employee Only $2.85

Two-Party $5.55

Family $8.80



14

2025 Benefit Summary

EMI Health Vision Buy Up Plan In-Network (Member Pays) Out-of-Network (Reimbursement)
Eye Exam $10 copay Up to $65 allowance 

FRAMES 
Any Available Frame at Provider 
Location

$0 copay, $160 allowance;  
$90 allowance at Costco, Walmart, or Sam’s Club Up to $80 allowance

LENSES 
Single Vision Lenses $10 copay Up to $30 allowance

Bifocal Lenses $10 copay Up to $50 allowance 

Trifocal Lenses $10 copay Up to $65 allowance

Lens Options
UV Coating $16 copay

Non-Contracted (Provider Discretion)

Tint (Solid and Gradient) $15 copay

Standard Scratch Resistance $17 copay

Standard Polycarbonate $31-$35 copay

Standard Anti-Reflective $41 copay

Progressive $0-$175 copay

Other Add-Ons and Services Up to 25% discount

Contacts

Conventional $0 copay, $160 allowance,  
15% discount on Fitting Services Up to $145 allowance

Disposable $0 copay, $160 allowance,  
15% discount on Fitting Services Up to $145 allowance

Additional Eyewear Purchases Up to 20% off Retail N/A

Lasik and PRK Vision Correction Up to $500 savings N/A

Frequency 
Examination Once every 12 months

Frames Once every 12 months

Lenses or Contact Lenses Once every 12 months

EMI Health  
Vision Buy Up Plan

Employee Cost Per Pay Period (24)
(Full-Time, ¾ Time, ½ Time)

Employee Only $4.25

Two-Party $8.25

Family $12.60



15

Utah County

Life and Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance
Insured by The Standard

Life and Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance
Life insurance provides fi nancial security for the people who depend on you. Your benefi ciaries will receive a lump-sum payment if you pass 
away while employed by Utah County. This is provided by Utah County at no cost to you! 

Life Insurance AD&D Insurance
Regular Employee $50,000 $50,000

Public Safety Employee $50,000 $100,000

Spouse $10,000 N/A

Children (Live Birth to age 26) $10,000 N/A

Voluntary Life Insurance
Insured by The Standard

Voluntary Life Insurance

Employee Spouse Children
(Live Birth to age 26)

Increments $10,000 $5,000 $5,000

Guarantee Issue 5x salary up to $300,000 100% of employee amount up to 
$20,000 $10,000

Life Benefi t Maximum 8x salary up to $500,000 100% of employee amount up to 
$200,000 $10,000

The Standard – Voluntary Life Employee Cost Per Pay Period (24)

Age Band Employee Rate
(Per $1,000)

Spouse Rate* 
(Per $1,000)

All Children Rate 
(Per $1,000)

< 25 $0.0325 $0.0325 $0.078 

25 – 29 $0.0325 $0.0325

30 – 34 $0.0400 $0.0400

35 – 39 $0.0450 $0.0450

40 – 44 $0.0650 $0.0650

45 – 49 $0.1105 $0.1105

50 – 54 $0.1690 $0.1690

55 – 59 $0.2405 $0.2405

60 – 64 $0.4095 $0.4095

65 – 69 $0.8190 $0.8190

70 – 74 $1.7160 $1.7160

75+ $3.3140 $3.1380

*Spouse rates are based on the employee’s age.

Life, AD&D, and Voluntary Life Reductions in Insurance
If you reach an age shown below, the amount of insurance will be the amount determined from the Schedule of Insurance, multiplied by the 
appropriate percentage below:

Age 70 through 74 – 67%
Age 75 or over – 45%
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Disability Insurance
Administered by The Standard
Meeting your basic living expenses can be a real challenge if you become disabled. Your options may be limited to personal savings, 
spousal income, and possibly Social Security. Disability insurance provides protection for your most valuable asset – your ability to earn 
income. You may purchase short-term disability. Utah County provides long-term disability at no additional cost to you!

Voluntary Short-Term Disability Insurance
Voluntary Short-Term Disability

Weekly Benefi t Amount 60% of Salary

Maximum Weekly Benefi t $1,800

Elimination (Waiting) Period 7 days accident / 7 days illness

Benefi t Duration Up to 13 weeks

Pre-Existing Condition Waiting Period* 60 days

*Late enrollees (those who enroll at open enrollment instead of during their initial new hire enrollment window) will be subject to a 60-day 
benefi t waiting period for sickness or pregnancy during the fi rst 12 months of being enrolled in the plan.

The Standard Vol STD 
Employee Cost Per Pay Period (24)

$10 weekly benefi t
<29 $0.195

30-34 $0.200

35-39 $0.205

40-44 $0.210

45-49 $0.215

50-54 $0.270

55-59 $0.320

60-64 $0.375

65-69 $0.425

70> $0.480

Long-Term Disability Insurance
Long-Term Disability

Monthly Benefi t Amount 60% of salary

Maximum Monthly Benefi t $12,000

Elimination (Waiting) Period 90 days

Benefi t Duration To Social Security Normal Retirement Age 
(SSNRA)

Pre-Existing Condition Waiting Period* 3/12

*If you fi le a claim for disability in the fi rst 12 months of being covered by the plan and you received treatment, consultation, care, services, 
or diagnostic measures for the same condition during the 3 months prior to the plan eff ective date, The Standard reserves the right to 
decline payment for that claim.
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Voluntary Accident Insurance
Administered by Voya
An accidental injury can be costly, especially if you are financially unprepared. Your current medical coverage will help pay for expenses 
associated with an injury, but won’t cover all of the out-of-pocket expenses you may face. Don’t wait until you are rushed to the emergency 
room to realize you need more protection. With accident insurance, you will receive additional coverage that your medical insurance may 
not cover.

The plan has limitations and exclusions that may affect benefits payable. Below is for illustrative purposes only and is not a complete list of 
benefits payable. Refer to your certificate for complete details, definitions, limitations, and exclusions.

Accident Hospital Care
Surgery (open abdominal, thoracic) $1,200
Surgery (exploratory or without repair) $175
Blood, Plasma, Platelets $600
Hospital Admission $1,250
Hospital Confinement (per day to 365 days) $375
Critical Care Unit Confinement (per day up to 15 days) $600
Rehabilitation Facility Confinement (per day up to 90 days) $200
Coma (duration of 14 or more days) $17,000
Transportation (per trip up to 3 per accident) $750
Lodging (per day up to 30 days) $180
Family care (per child per day up to 45 days) $25

Accident Care
Initial Doctor Visit $90
Urgent Care Facility Treatment $225
Emergency Room Treatment $225
Ground Ambulance $360
Air Ambulance $1,500
Follow-Up Doctor Treatment $90
Chiropractic Treatment (up to 6 per accident) $45
Medical Equipment $120
Physical or Occupational Therapy (up to 6 per accident) $45
Prosthetic Device (one) $750
Prosthetic Device (two or more) $1,200
Major Diagnostic Exams $240
Outpatient Surgery (once per accident) $225
X-ray $45

Common Injuries
Burns (2nd degree, at least 36% of body) $1,250
Burns (3rd degree, at least 9 but less than 35 sq in of body) $7,500
Burns (3rd degree, 35 or more sq in of body) $15,000
Skin grafts 25% of burn benefit
Emergency Dental Work (Crown) $350
Emergency Dental Work (Extraction) $90
Eye Injury (removal of foreign object) $100
Eye Injury (surgery) $350
Torn Knee Cartilage (surgery with no repair or if cartilage is shaved) $225
Torn Knee Cartilage (surgical repair) $800
Laceration* (treated - no sutures) $30
Laceration* (sutures up to 2") $60
Laceration* (sutures 2" to 6") $240
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Laceration* (sutures over 6") $480
Ruptured Disk (surgical repair) $800
Tendon, Ligament, Rotator Cuff (exploratory arthoscopic surgery with no repair) $425
Tendon, Ligament, Rotator Cuff (1, surgical repair) $825
Tendon, Ligament, Rotator Cuff (2 or more, surgical repair) $1,225
Concussion $225
Paralysis (paraplegia) $16,000
Paralysis (quadriplegia) $24,000

Common Injuries - DISLOCATIONS Closed / Open Reduction
Hip Joint $3,850 / $7,700
Knee $2,400 / $4,800
Ankle or foot bone(s) other than toes $1,500 / $3,000
Shoulder $1,600 / $3,200
Elbow $1,100 / $2,200
Wrist $1,100 / $2,200
Finger/Toe $275 / $550
Hand bone(s) other than fingers $1,100 / $2,200
Lower jaw $1,100 / $2,200
Collarbone $1,100 / $2,200
Partial dislocations 25% of the closed reduction amount

Common Injuries - FRACTURES Closed / Open Reduction
Hip $3,000 / $6,000
Leg $2,500 / $5,000
Ankle $1,800 / $3,600
Kneecap $1,800 / $3,600
Foot (excluding toes, heel) $1,800 / $3,600
Upper arm $2,100 / $4,200
Forearm, hand, wrist (except fingers) $1,800 / $3,600
Finger, Toe $240 / $480
Vertebral body $3,360 / $6,720
Vertebral processes $1,440 / $2,880
Pelvis (except coccyx) $3,200 / $6,400
Coccyx $400 / $800
Bones of the face (except nose) $1,200 / $2,400
Nose $600 / $1,200

Common Injuries - FRACTURES Closed / Open Reduction
Upper jaw $1,500 / $3,000
Lower jaw $1,440 / $2,880
Collarbone $1,440 / $2,880
Ribs or rib $400 / $800
Skull - Simple (except bones of the face) $1,400 / $2,800
Skull - Depressed (except bones of the face) $3,000 / $6,000
Sternum $360 / $720
Shoulder blade $1,800 / $3,600
Chip fractures 25% of the closed reduction amount
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Catastrophic Accident Rider

Employee* Spouse* Children Home Modification 
Benefit

Vehicle Modification 
Benefit

$120,000 $60,000 $30,000 $5,000 $5,000
*Benefit reduces to 50% at age 65, and to 25% of the original benefit amount at age 70.

*Eligible to receive this benefit payment 365 days after the covered accident.

Wellness Benefit
Employee Spouse Children*

$50 $50 $25

*Wellness Benefit amount, to a maximum of $100 for all children

Accident Plan Employee Cost Per Pay Period (24) 
Full-time, 3/4 time, 1/2 time

Employee $4.88

Employee + Spouse $8.33

Employee + Children $9.71

Family $13.15
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Voluntary Hospital Indemnity Insurance
Administered by Voya
When hospitalized, you may not realize that most primary health insurance plans do not cover all hospital costs. Hospital Indemnity Insurance 
can complement your medical coverage by helping to ease the financial impact of a hospitalization due to accident or illness. Coverage is 
available for employees, spouses, and families. Benefits are paid directly to employees unless otherwise specified and regardless of any other 
insurance. Eligible employees and dependents will be able to elect coverage during Open Enrollment regardless of prior health history. Voya 
pays predetermined cash directly to you for covered hospital, outpatient, nursing, transportation, or physician services.

Hospital Indemnity 
Benefit Employee Spouse Children

Hospital
(1x Daily Benefit Amount) $100 $100 $100

Critical Care Unit
(2x Daily Benefit Amount) $200 $200 $200

Rehabilitation Facility
(.5x Daily Benefit Amount) $50 $50 $50

Initial Hospital 
Confinement $1,100 $1,100 $1,100

Hospital Indemnity Employee Cost Per Pay Period (24)
Full-time, 3/4 time, 1/2 time

Employee $7.95

Employee + Spouse $15.94

Employee + Children $11.94

Family $19.93

Voluntary Critical Illness Insurance
Administered by Voya
No one knows what lies ahead on the road through life. Will you have to undergo a major organ transplant or a coronary artery bypass 
procedure? Will you suffer a stroke or a heart attack? The signs pointing to a critical illness are not always clear and may not be 
preventable, but our coverage can help offer financial protection in the event you are diagnosed. Critical illness coverage can help offer 
peace of mind when a critical illness diagnosis occurs. Depending on your election amount, that dollar amount will be paid to you at the 
below percentages if the corresponding critical illness diagnoses occur.

Covered Benefit Amount
Employee

Benefit amount: Choice of $10,000, $20,000 or $30,000
Spouse

Spouse coverage matches employee benefit schedule, additional benefits and riders.
Benefit amount: Choice of $5,000, $10,000 or $15,000

Child
Children’s coverage matches employee benefit schedule, additional benefits and riders.

Benefit amount: Choice of $5,000 or $10,000
Base Module

Heart attack (cardiac arrest is not a heart attack) 100%
Cancer 100%
Stroke 100%
Major organ transplant* 100%
Coronary artery bypass 25%
Carcinoma in situ 25%

*Major organ transplant means the irreversible failure of your heart, lung, pancreas, entire kidney or liver, or any combination thereof, 
determined by a Physician specialized in care of the involved organ.
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Major Organ Module
Type 1 diabetes 100%
Severe burns 100%
Transient ischemic attacks (TIA) 10%
Ruptured or dissecting aneurysm 10%
Abdominal aortic aneurysm 10%
Thoracic aortic aneurysm 10%
Open heart surgery for valve replacement or repair 10%
Transcatheter heart valve replacement or repair 10%
Coronary angioplasty 10%
Implantable (or Internal) cardioverter defibrillator (ICD) placement 10%
Pacemaker placement 10%

Enhanced Cancer Module
Benign brain tumor 100%
Skin cancer 10%
Bone marrow transplant 25%
Stem cell transplant 25%

Wellness Benefit
Employee Spouse Children*

$50 $50 50% of employee’s Wellness Benefit amount, 
to a maximum of $100 for all children

*Wellness Benefit amount, to a maximum of $100 for all children

Critical Illness Rates
Employee Cost Per Pay Period (24)

Full-time, 3/4 time, 1/2 time
Per $1,000

Employee Non-Tobacco Tobacco
Under 25 $0.195 $0.325

25-29 $0.205 $0.35 

30-34 $0.23 $0.40 

35-39 $0.285 $0.50 

40-44 $0.385 $0.70 

45-49 $0.56 $1.04 

50-54 $0.81 $1.54 

55-59 $1.145 $2.195

60-64 $1.55 $3.00 

65-69 $1.985 $3.85 

70+ $2.705 $5.275

Spouse* Non-Tobacco Tobacco
Per $1,000

Under 25 $0.20 $0.335

25-29 $0.215 $0.365

30-34 $0.225 $0.39 

35-39 $0.275 $0.485

40-44 $0.375 $0.685

45-49 $0.545 $1.015

50-54 $0.825 $1.57

55-59 $1.225 $2.355

60-64 $1.58 $3.06

65-69 $2.01 $3.905 

70+ $2.755 $5.375

*Spouse Critical Illness rate is based on the Spouse Age

Children
$0.45 for $5,000
$0.90 for $10,000
$1.35 for $15,000
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Employee Assistance Program (EAP)
Administered by Intermountain EAP

The Intermountain Employee Assistance Program (EAP) is a free, confidential 
benefit for employees and their families, funded by the employer. It offers:

Counseling: Virtual or in-person sessions for employees, spouses, and dependents 
aged 6-26 covering marital issues, parenting challenges, mood concerns, work conflicts, 
and general life stress.

Crisis Support: 24/7 crisis line and prompt response to adverse events.

Digital Resources: Emotional wellbeing app and website with resources like Mental 
Health Minutes, live webinars, supervisor services, and more available around the clock.

Elder Care: Information, coaching, and resources for supporting aging relatives, 
including medical, legal, financial guidance, and emotional support.

Legal/Financial Assist: Free consultations with professionals on topics such as credit, 
debt, home purchases, and retirement savings.

Referrals: Assistance in navigating community resources for ongoing support.

800.832.7733     eap@imail.org

Contact us:

EAP Guide
for Intermountain Employee 
Assistance Program 2025
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For specific details about your plan, 

To talk with someone, call ARAG at

and to view a complete list of coverages,

and enter Access Code:
visit

Legal Insurance 
from ARAG 

WHAT IS LEGAL INSURANCE?
Legal insurance helps you plan for the good times in life, like welcoming a child into your 
family and updating your will. It’s also there to help you through life’s struggles, like when 
kids make mistakes, you get caught speeding or true love just doesn't work out.

A legal insurance plan from ARAG® covers a wide range of legal 
needs  like the examples shown below – and many more – to help 
you address life's legal situations.

WHAT DOES IT COST?

WANT MORE INFORMATION?WHAT DOES LEGAL INSURANCE COVER?

Utah County Government

Consumer Protection Matters
• Auto repair
• Buy﻿ing or selling a car
• Consumer fraud
• Consumer protection for
goods or services

• Home improvement
• Personal property disputes
• Small claims court

Criminal Situations
• Juvenile
• Parental responsibility

Family Law Events
• Adoption
• Domestic partnership
• Guardianship/conservatorship
• Name change
• Pet-related matters and
damages

• Pre-marital agreements
• Divorce

General Needs
• Credit records correction
• Document review
• Document ﻿preparation

UltimateAdvisor®
$18.78 monthly

Finance, Tax & Debt-Related
Matters
• Debt collection
• Garnishments
• Personal bankruptcy
• Student loan debt
• Tax audit

Home Ownership or
Renter Matters
• Boundary disputes
• Buying and selling a home
• Contractor issues
• Contracts/lease agreements
• Deeds
• Foreclosures or evictions
• Disputes with a landlord
• Neighbor disputes
• Property title disputes
• Real estate disputes

Traffic Troubles
• License suspension/revocation
• Traffic tickets

Wills & Estate Planning Needs
• Funeral directives
• Powers of attorney
• Wills
• Trusts

ARAGlegal.com/myinfo

800-247-4184

19309ut

AHEEEHAPPDJMBOFCNIHHFLLAIPAHEEEHA
BNFFFNBPJKIHAPNPFCJGIOEGAPBNFFFNB
ALPDOHFNDICDIHCGCMPEKGOOADLBMONLI
NJEPIFFIHBLCPIPCLKMOGCEEOFAEDDPID
OONIDKFEHCOOHBDOIGMGGAFLGOEKHLNAM
KPIJBJFBGDKPEAHJCFCMDAAHADJENIPDB
MFNNFFEPCLHJJMFHOHPKACJPAHFHAJNLC
APBBBPAPLFDGJIPCGKOHPGKIAECHBBNHF
HHHHHHHPHPPPHPPPHPHHPHPPHHHPHPPHP

Voluntary Legal Insurance
Administered by ARAG
If it’s time to create a will, fight a traffic ticket, deal with divorce, or even get your deposit back from a difficult landlord, you have 
access to legal insurance to make it more affordable to get legal help you need. Network attorney fees are 100% paid in-in-full for 
most covered matters. Services may be used for you, your spouse and you dependent children under the age of 26 living with you
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Pet Insurance
Administered by ASPCA 
Insurance is now available for your pets! Pet insurance can give financial peace of mind when it comes to taking care of their health. With 
ASPCA, you will choose what level of coverage you want for your pet and whether you want to cover health claims, accident claims, or both. 

Coverage can includes exam fee, diagnostics, and treatments for:
•	 Accident

•	 Illnesses

•	 Hereditary Conditions

•	 Cancer

•	 Dental Disease

•	 Behavioral Issues

Customizable Options

Annual Limit From $5,00 to unlimited

Reimbursement Percentage Select 90%, 80%, or 70% of your vet bill

Deductible Select $100, $250, or $500. 
You’ll only need to satisfy it once per 12-month policy period

Add Preventive Care Get reimbursed for a set amount for things that protect your pet from getting sick, like vaccines, 
dental cleanings, and screenings

Accident-Only Coverage You can choose coverage that only includes care for accidents if you’re looking to have some 
cushion if your pet gets hurt

How to Enroll
•	 Pet Insurance is offered directly with ASPCA

•	 It is not a payroll deducted benefit

•	 Enroll by phone: 877.343.5314 

•	 Enroll online: www.aspcapetinsurance.com/UtahCounty

Use the priority code EB22UtahCounty to access the Utah 
County group rate

To receive payment on a claim, submit the vet bill directly to ASPCA—then a reimbursement will be headed 
your way! You can visit any vet specialist or emergency clinic you want.
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Retirement
Administered by URS and Voya Retirement

Defined Benefit Plan
Participation in a Utah Retirement System (URS) pension plan is mandatory for most Career Service* employees. Plans vary based upon 
employee’s hire date. The County pays all or a portion depending on which URS plan the employee is eligible to participate in. 

This valuable benefit provides retirement income based upon salary, length of service, and/or contributions. Visit the URS website for more 
information (www.urs.org). 

Defined Contribution Plans**
401(k)
All Career Service* employees hired after January 2012 will automatically be enrolled after 60 days, and deductions of 6.2% will be taken 
from the employee’s gross salary unless the employee makes a different payroll election. The employee has the option to make pretax or 
post-tax (ROTH 401k) contributions through payroll deductions. Upon completion of probation, Utah County, will make a dollar-for-dollar 
matching contribution up to 6.2%.

At retirement, termination of employment, or age 59 ½, employees may elect partial withdrawals, structured payments, lump sum amounts, 
or may choose to defer distribution until a later date. Early-withdrawal tax penalties may apply.

457(b) 
The 457(b) Deferred Compensation Plan is voluntary for Career Service* employees. The employee has the option to make pretax 
or post-tax (ROTH 457b) contributions through payroll deductions. At retirement or termination of employment, employees may elect partial 
withdrawals, structured payments, lump sum amounts, or may choose to defer distribution until a later date. The entire balance (less tax 
withholdings) of the account may be distributed to the employee at retirement or termination. There is no early withdrawal penalty assessed 
on a 457(b) account. 

Visit the Voya Retirement website for more information (www.voyaretirementplans.com).
*Eligible employees include appointed, elected, and retained by election.

**FICA replacement
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Contact Information
If you have specific questions about any of the benefit plans, please contact the administrator listed below, or your local Human Resources 
department.

Benefit Administrator Phone Website / Email

Your Benefits – 
Benefits Administration Utah County HR

Stacey Bush 801.851.8167 staceyb@utahcounty.gov

Brandon Chambers 801.851.8162 brandonbc@utahcounty.gov

Medical Insurance SelectHealth 800.538.5038 www.selecthealth.org

Dental Insurance Delta Dental 800.521.2651 www.deltadentalins.com

Vision Insurance EMI Health 800.662.5850 www.emihealth.com 

Life and Disability Insurance The Standard 800.378.5742 www.standard.com

Health Savings Account HealthEquity 866.346.5800 www.healthequity.com

Flexible Spending Accounts –
FSA, LPFSA, Dependent Care FSA, 
Commuter FSA

Wex 866.451.3399 www.wexinc.com

Voluntary Benefits –
Accident, Hospital Indemnity, Critical Illness Voya 855.663.8692 www.voya.com

Voluntary Benefits –
Legal Insurance ARAG 800.247.4184 www.ARAGlegal.com/myinfo

Access Code: 19309ut

Employee Assistance Program (EAP) Intermountain Healthcare 800.832.7733 www.intermountainhealthcare.org/eap

Pet Insurance ASPCA 877.343.5314 www.aspcapetinsurance.com/UtahCounty

Retirement Plan/401(k) Voya Retirement 800.584.5001 www.voyaretirementplans.com
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Per Pay Period Rates for Benefits (24)
Benefit Plan Full-Time ¾ Time ½ Time

Medical — SelectHealth Share-HSA QHDHP
Employee $0 $0 $164.85

Employee + Spouse $0 $0 $333.90

Family $0 $0 $447.38

Medical — SelectHealth Share Signature Plan Traditional
Employee $53.30 $53.30 $218.15

Employee + Spouse $107.85 $107.85 $441.75

Family $144.40 $144.40 $591.78

Dental — Base Plan 
Employee $0.42 $0.42 $0.42

Two Party $4.92 $4.92 $4.92

Family $9.11 $9.11 $9.11

Dental — Comprehensive Plan 
Employee $3.99 $3.99 $3.99

Two Party $15.56 $15.56 $15.56

Family $28.13 $28.13 $28.13

Vision — Base Plan
Employee $2.85 $2.85 $2.85

Two Party $5.55 $5.55 $5.55

Family $8.80 $8.80 $8.80

Vision —Buy Up Plan
Employee $4.25 $4.25 $4.25

Two Party $8.25 $8.25 $8.25

Family $12.60 $12.60 $12.60

Accident
Employee $4.88 $4.88 $4.88

Employee + Spouse $8.33 $8.33 $8.33

Employee + Children $9.71 $9.71 $9.71

Family $13.15 $13.15 $13.15

Hospital Indemnity
Employee $7.95 $7.94 $7.94

Employee + Spouse $15.94 $15.94 $15.94

Employee + Children $11.94 $11.94 $11.94

Family $19.93 $19.93 $19.93

Legal
All Family Members $9.39 $9.39 $9.39

*Please see page 21 for Critical Illness rates.
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Important Notices and Disclosures
Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act
If you have had or are going to have a mastectomy, you may be 
entitled to certain benefits under the Women’s Health and Cancer 
Rights Act of 1998 (WHCRA). For individuals receiving 
mastectomy-related benefits, coverage will be provided in a 
manner determined in consultation with the attending physician 
and the patient for:

•	 All stages of reconstruction of the breast on which the 
mastectomy has been performed;

•	 Surgery and reconstruction of the other breast to produce a 
symmetrical appearance;

•	 Prostheses; and

•	 Treatment of physical complications of all stages of mastectomy, 
including lymphedema.

These benefits will be provided subject to the same deductibles 
and coinsurance applicable to other medical and surgical benefits 
provided under the plan.

If you would like more information on WHCRA benefits, please 
contact your plan administrator.

Newborn’s Act Disclosure
Group health plans and health insurance issuers generally may 
not, under federal law, restrict benefits for any hospital length of 
stay in connection with childbirth for the mother or newborn child to 
less than 48 hours following a vaginal delivery or less than 96 
hours following a cesarean section.

However, federal law generally does not prohibit the mother’s or 
newborn’s attending provider, after consulting with the mother, from 
discharging the mother or her newborn earlier than 48 hours (or 96 
hours as applicable). In any case, plans and issuers may not, 
under federal law, require that a provider obtain authorization from 
the plan or the insurance issuer for prescribing a length of stay not 
in excess of 48 hours (or 96 hours).

HIPAA Special Enrollment Rights
If you are a full-time employee working at least 30 hours per week, 
you are eligible to participate in the group health and welfare plan. 
To actually participate, you must enroll in the benefits and pay part 
of the premium through payroll deduction.

HIPAA requires that we notify you about an important provision in 
the plan - your right to enroll in the plan under its “special 
enrollment provision” if you acquire a new dependent, or if you 
decline coverage under this plan for yourself or an eligible 
dependent while other coverage is in effect and later lose that other 
coverage for certain qualifying reasons. 

Loss of Other Coverage (Excluding Medicaid or a State 
Children’s Health Insurance Program). If you decline enrollment 
for yourself or for an eligible dependent (including your spouse) 
while other health insurance or group health plan coverage is in 
effect, you may be able to enroll yourself and your dependents in 
this plan if you or your dependents lose eligibility for that other 
coverage (or if the employer stops contributing toward your or your 
dependents’ other coverage). However, you must request 
enrollment within 30 days after your or your dependents’ other 
coverage ends (or after the employer stops contributing toward the 
other coverage).

Loss of Coverage for Medicaid or a State Children’s Health 
Insurance Program. If you decline enrollment for yourself or for an 
eligible dependent (including your spouse) while Medicaid 
coverage or coverage under a state children’s health insurance 
program is in effect, you may be able to enroll yourself and your 
dependents in this plan if you or your dependents lose eligibility for 
that other coverage. However, you must request enrollment within 
60 days after your or your dependents’ coverage ends under 
Medicaid or a state children’s health insurance program.

New Dependent by Marriage, Birth, Adoption, or Placement for 
Adoption. If you have a new dependent as a result of marriage, 
birth, adoption, or placement for adoption, you may be able to 
enroll yourself and your new dependents. However, you must 
request enrollment within 30 days after the marriage, birth, 
adoption, or placement for adoption.

Eligibility for Medicaid or a State Children’s Health Insurance 
Program. If you or your dependents (including your spouse) 
become eligible for a state premium assistance subsidy from 
Medicaid or through a state children’s health insurance program 
with respect to coverage under this plan, you may be able to enroll 
yourself and your dependents in this plan. However, you must 
request enrollment within 60 days after your or your dependents’ 
determination of eligibility for such assistance.

To request special enrollment or to obtain more information about 
the plan’s special enrollment provisions, contact Human Resources.

Qualified Medical Child Support Orders
Coverage will be provided to any of your dependent child(ren) if a 
Qualified Medical Child Support Order (QMCSO) is issued, 
regardless of whether the child(ren) currently reside with you. A 
QMCSO may be issued by a court of law or issued by a state 
agency as a National Medical Support Notice (NMSN), which is 
treated as a QMCSO. If a QMCSO is issued, the child or children 
shall become an alternate recipient treated as covered under the 
Plan and are subject to the limitations, restrictions, provisions, and 
procedures as all other plan participants.

Premium Assistance Under Medicaid and the 
Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP)
If you or your children are eligible for Medicaid or CHIP and you’re 
eligible for health coverage from your employer, your state may 
have a premium assistance program that can help pay for 
coverage, using funds from their Medicaid or CHIP programs. If 
you or your children aren’t eligible for Medicaid or CHIP, you won’t 
be eligible for these premium assistance programs but you may be 
able to buy individual insurance coverage through the Health 
Insurance Marketplace. For more information, visit  
www.healthcare.gov.

If you or your dependents are already enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP 
and you live in a state listed below, contact your State Medicaid or 
CHIP office to find out if premium assistance is available. 

If you or your dependents are not currently enrolled in Medicaid or 
CHIP, and you think you or any of your dependents might be 
eligible for either of these programs, contact your State Medicaid or 
CHIP office or dial 877.KIDS.NOW or www.insurekidsnow.gov to 
find out how to apply. If you qualify, ask your state if it has a 
program that might help you pay the premiums for an employer-
sponsored plan.
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KANSAS – Medicaid
https://www.kancare.ks.gov/
800.792.4884 | HIPP Phone: 800.967.4660
KENTUCKY – Medicaid
Kentucky Integrated Health Insurance Premium Payment Program (KI-HIPP): 
https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dms/member/Pages/kihipp.aspx
855.459.6328 | KIHIPP.PROGRAM@ky.gov
KCHIP: https://kynect.ky.gov | 877.524.4718
Medicaid: https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dms
LOUISIANA – Medicaid
www.medicaid.la.gov or www.ldh.la.gov/lahipp
888.342.6207 (Medicaid hotline) or 855.618.5488 (LaHIPP)
MAINE – Medicaid
Enrollment: https://www.mymaineconnection.gov/
benefits/s/?language=en_US
800.442.6003 | TTY: Maine relay 711
Private Health Insurance Premium: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/
applications-forms
800.977.6740 | TTY: Maine relay 711
MASSACHUSETTS – Medicaid and CHIP
https://www.mass.gov/masshealth/pa
800.862.4840 | TTY: 711| Email: masspremassistance@accenture.com
MINNESOTA – Medicaid
https://mn.gov/dhs/health-care-coverage/
800.657.3672
MISSOURI – Medicaid
http://www.dss.mo.gov/mhd/participants/pages/hipp.htm
573.751.2005
MONTANA – Medicaid
http://dphhs.mt.gov/MontanaHealthcarePrograms/HIPP
800.694.3084 | Email: HHSHIPPProgram@mt.gov
NEBRASKA – Medicaid
http://www.ACCESSNebraska.ne.gov 
Phone: 855.632.7633 | Lincoln: 402.473.7000 | Omaha: 402.595.1178 
NEVADA – Medicaid
http://dhcfp.nv.gov
800.992.0900
NEW HAMPSHIRE – Medicaid
https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/programs-services/medicaid/
health-insurance-premium-program
603.271.5218 | Toll free number for the HIPP program: 800.852.3345, ext. 
15218 | Email: DHHS.ThirdPartyLiabi@dhhs.nh.gov
NEW JERSEY – Medicaid and CHIP
Medicaid: http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/medicaid
800.356.1561
CHIP: http://www.njfamilycare.org/index.html
800.701.0710 (TTY: 711) | Premium Assistance: 609.631.2392
NEW YORK – Medicaid
https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/
800.541.2831
NORTH CAROLINA – Medicaid
https://dma.ncdhhs.gov
919.855.4100
NORTH DAKOTA – Medicaid
https://www.hhs.nd.gov/healthcare
844.854.4825
OKLAHOMA – Medicaid and CHIP
http://www.insureoklahoma.org
888.365.3742
OREGON – Medicaid and CHIP
http://healthcare.oregon.gov/Pages/index.aspx
800.699.9075

If you or your dependents are eligible for premium assistance 
under Medicaid or CHIP, as well as eligible under your employer 
plan, your employer must allow you to enroll in your employer plan 
if you aren’t already enrolled. This is called a “special enrollment” 
opportunity, and you must request coverage within 60 days of 
being determined eligible for premium assistance. If you have 
questions about enrolling in your employer plan, contact the 
Department of Labor at www.askebsa.dol.gov or call 866.444.
EBSA (3272).

If you live in one of the following states, you may be eligible 
for assistance paying your employer health plan premiums. 
The following list of states is current as of July 31, 2024. 
Contact your state for more information on eligibility.

ALABAMA – Medicaid
http://myalhipp.com
855.692.5447
ALASKA – Medicaid
The AK Health Insurance Premium Payment Program
http://myakhipp.com/ | 866.251.4861
CustomerService@MyAKHIPP.com 
Medicaid Eligibility: https://health.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/default.aspx
ARKANSAS – Medicaid
http://myarhipp.com
855.MyARHIPP (855.692.7447)
CALIFORNIA – Medicaid
Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program
http://dhcs.ca.gov/hipp
916.445.8322 | Fax: 916.440.5676| Email: hipp@dhcs.ca.gov
COLORADO – Medicaid and CHIP
Health First Colorado (Colorado’s Medicaid Program)
https://www.healthfirstcolorado.com
Member Contact Center: 800.221.3943 | State Relay 711
Child Health Plan Plus (CHP+)
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/child-health-plan-plus 
Customer Service: 800.359.1991 | State Relay 711
Health Insurance Buy-In Program (HIBI) 
https://www.mycohibi.com/ 
HIBI Customer Service: 855.692.6442
FLORIDA – Medicaid
www.flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/hipp/index.html
877.357.3268
GEORGIA – Medicaid
GA HIPP Website: https://medicaid.georgia.gov/
health-insurance-premium-payment-program-hipp
678.564.1162, Press 1 
GA CHIPRA Website: https://medicaid.
georgia.gov/programs/third-party-liability/
childrens-health-insurance-program-reauthorization-act-2009-chipra
678.564.1162, Press 2
INDIANA – Medicaid
Health Insurance Premium Payment Program
Family and Social Services Administration
http://www.in.gov/fssa/dfr/ | 800.403.0864
All other Medicaid
https://www.in.gov/medicaid/ | 800.457.4584
IOWA – Medicaid and CHIP (Hawki)
Medicaid: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/welcome-iowa-medicaid
800.338.8366
Hawki: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/welcome-iowa-medicaid/
iowa-health-link/hawki
800.257.8563
HIPP: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/welcome-iowa-medicaid/fee-service/
hipp
888.346.9562
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PENNSYLVANIA – Medicaid and CHIP
https://www.pa.gov/en/services/dhs/apply-for-medicaid-health-insurance-
premium-payment-program-hipp.html
800.692.7462
CHIP Website: https://www.dhs.pa.gov/CHIP/Pages/CHIP.aspx
CHIP Phone: 800.986.KIDS (5437)
RHODE ISLAND – Medicaid and CHIP
http://www.eohhs.ri.gov
855.697.4347 or 401.462.0311 (Direct RIte Share Line)
SOUTH CAROLINA – Medicaid
http://www.scdhhs.gov
888.549.0820
SOUTH DAKOTA – Medicaid
http://dss.sd.gov
888.828.0059
TEXAS – Medicaid
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/services/financial/
health-insurance-premium-payment-hipp-program
800.440.0493
UTAH – Medicaid and CHIP
Utah’s Premium Partnership for Health Insurance (UPP) 
https://medicaid.utah.gov/upp/ | Email: upp@utah.gov | 888.222.2542
Adult Expansion: https://medicaid.utah.gov/expansion/
Utah Medicaid Buyout Program: https://medicaid.utah.gov/buyout-program/
CHIP: https://chip.utah.gov/
VERMONT – Medicaid
https://dvha.vermont.gov/members/medicaid/hipp-program
800.250.8427
VIRGINIA – Medicaid and CHIP
https://coverva.dmas.virginia.gov/learn/premium-assistance/famis-select
https://coverva.dmas.virginia.gov/learn/premium-assistance/
health-insurance-premium-payment-hipp-programs 
Medicaid and Chip: 800.432.5924
WASHINGTON – Medicaid
https://www.hca.wa.gov/
800.562.3022
WEST VIRGINIA – Medicaid and CHIP
https://dhhr.wv.gov/bms/ or http://mywvhipp.com/ 
Medicaid: 304.558.1700
CHIP Toll-free: 855.MyWVHIPP (855.699.8447)
WISCONSIN – Medicaid and CHIP
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/badgercareplus/p-10095.htm
800.362.3002
WYOMING – Medicaid
https://health.wyo.gov/healthcarefin/medicaid/programs-and-eligibility/
800.251.1269
To see if any other states have added a premium assistance 
program since July 31, 2024, or for more information on 
special enrollment rights, contact either:

U.S. Department of Labor 
Employee Benefits Security Administration 

www.dol.gov/agencies/ebsa 
866.444.EBSA (3272)

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 

www.cms.hhs.gov 
877.267.2323, Menu Option 4, Ext. 61565 

OMB Control Number 1210-0137 (expires 1/31/2026)

Preventive Care
Certain preventive care services must be provided by 
non-grandfathered group health plans without member cost sharing 
(such as deductibles or copays) when these services are provided 
by a network provider. Please refer to your insurance company for 
more information. Contact information is listed under “Contacts” in 
this Guide.

COBRA
Federal COBRA is a U.S. law that applies to employers who 
employ 20 or more individuals and sponsor a group health plan. 
Under Federal COBRA you may be eligible to continue your same 
group health insurance for up to 18 months if your job ends or your 
hours are reduced. You are responsible for COBRA premium 
payments.

Prescription Drug Creditable Coverage Disclosure
Please read this notice carefully and keep it where you can find it. 
This notice has information about your current prescription drug 
coverage with Utah County and about your options under 
Medicare’s prescription drug coverage. This information can help 
you decide whether or not you want to join a Medicare drug plan. If 
you are considering joining, you should compare your current 
coverage, including which drugs are covered at what cost, with the 
coverage and costs of the plans offering Medicare prescription drug 
coverage in your area. Information about where you can get help to 
make decisions about your prescription drug coverage is at the end 
of this notice.

1.	Medicare prescription drug coverage became available in 2006 
to everyone with Medicare. You can get this coverage if you join 
a Medicare Prescription Drug Plan or join a Medicare Advantage 
Plan (like an HMO or PPO) that offers prescription drug 
coverage. All Medicare drug plans provide at least a standard 
level of coverage set by Medicare. Some plans may also offer 
more coverage for a higher monthly premium.

2.	Utah County has determined that the prescription drug coverage 
offered by the SelectHealth plans are, on average for all plan 
participants, expected to pay out as much as standard Medicare 
prescription drug coverage pays and is therefore considered 
Creditable Coverage. Because your existing coverage is 
Creditable Coverage, you can keep this coverage and not pay a 
higher premium (a penalty) if you later decide to join a Medicare 
drug plan.

When Can You Join a Medicare Drug Plan?
You can join a Medicare drug plan when you first become eligible 
for Medicare and each year from October 15 through December 7. 
However, if you lose your current creditable prescription drug 
coverage, through no fault of your own, you will also be eligible for 
a two-month Special Enrollment Period (SEP) to join a Medicare 
drug plan.

What Happens to Your Current Coverage if You Decide 
to Join a Medicare Drug Plan?
If you decide to join a Medicare drug plan, your current Utah 
County coverage will not be affected. You can keep this coverage if 
you elect Part D and this plan will coordinate with Part D coverage. 
If you do decide to enroll in a Medicare prescription drug plan and 
drop your Utah County prescription drug coverage, be aware that 
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you may not be able to get this coverage back until the next annual 
open enrollment period or if you experience a qualifying event.

You should compare your current coverage, including which drugs 
are covered, with the coverage and cost of the plans offering 
Medicare prescription drug coverage in your area. In addition, your 
current coverage pays other health expenses in addition to 
prescription drugs, and you will still be eligible to receive all of your 
current health and prescription drug benefits if you choose to enroll 
in a Medicare prescription drug plan.

When Will You Pay a Higher Premium (Penalty) to Join 
a Medicare Drug Plan?
You should also know that if you drop or lose your current coverage 
with Utah County and do not join a Medicare drug plan within 63 
continuous days after your current coverage ends, you may pay a 
higher premium (a penalty) to join a Medicare drug plan later.

If you go 63 continuous days or longer without creditable 
prescription drug coverage, your monthly premium may go up by at 
least 1% of the Medicare base beneficiary premium per month for 
every month that you did not have that coverage. For example, if 
you go nineteen months without creditable coverage, your premium 
may consistently be at least 19% higher than the Medicare base 
beneficiary premium. You may have to pay this higher premium (a 
penalty) as long as you have Medicare prescription drug coverage. 
In addition, you may have to wait until the following October to join. 
For more information about this notice or your current prescription 
drug coverage, please contact Human Resources.

For more information about this notice or your current prescription 
drug coverage contact the person listed at the end of this notice for 
further information. Note: you’ll get this notice each year. You will 
also get it before the next period you can join a Medicare drug 
plan, and if this coverage through Utah County changes you may 
also request a copy of this notice at any time.

For More Information About Your Options Under 
Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage
More detailed information about Medicare plans that offer prescription 
drug coverage is in the “Medicare & You” handbook. You’ll get a copy 
of the handbook in the mail every year from Medicare. You may also 
be contacted directly by Medicare drug plans. 

For More Information About Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage:
•	 Visit www.medicare.gov.

•	 Call your State Health Insurance Assistance Program (see inside 
back cover of your copy of the Medicare and You handbook for 
their telephone number) for personalized help.

•	 Call 800.MEDICARE (800.633.4227). TTY users should call 
877.486.2048.

If you have limited income and resources, extra help paying for 
Medicare prescription drug coverage is available. For information 
about this extra help, visit Social Security on the web at  
www.socialsecurity.gov, or call them at 800.772.1213.

Remember to keep this creditable 
coverage notice. If you decide to 
join one of the Medicare drug 
plans, you may be required to 
provide a copy of this notice when 
you join to show whether or not 
you have maintained creditable 
coverage and, therefore, whether 
or not you are required to pay a 
higher premium (a penalty).

For more information about this notice or your current 
prescription drug coverage contact the person listed at the 
end of this notice for further information. Note: you’ll get this 
notice each year. You will also get it before the next period you 
can join a Medicare drug plan, and if this coverage through 
Utah County changes you may also request a copy of this 
notice at any time.

Date: 1/1/2025

Name of Entity/Sender: Utah County Government

Contact--Position/Office: Brandon Chambers Manager, 		
Benefits and Engagement

Address: 100 East Center Street, Provo, 
UT 84606

Phone Number: 801.851.8162
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Family & Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
 FMLA is designed to help employees balance their work and 
family responsibilities by allowing them to take reasonable unpaid 
leave for certain family and medical reasons. It also seeks to 
accommodate the legitimate interests of employers and promote 
equal employment opportunity for men and women. FMLA applies 
to all public agencies, all public and private elementary and 
secondary schools, and companies with 50 or more employees.

There may be times when you need an extended leave of absence. 
The company has a Family and Medical Leave Policy that is in 
compliance with The Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 
(FMLA), as amended. FMLA provides an entitlement of up to 12 
weeks, which protects employees’ jobs and benefits in the event of 
a medical or family circumstance, which requires the employee to 
take time off from work without pay. In general, the employee must 
have worked for at least 12 months and at least, 1,250 hours within 
the last 12 months immediately prior to the first day of leave.

Circumstances Permitting Family and Medical Leave
•	 Birth of an employee’s child (within 12 months after birth)

•	 Adoption of a child by an employee (within 12 months after 
placement)

•	 Placement of a child with the employee for foster care (within

•	 12 months after placement)

•	 Care of a child, spouse or parent having a serious health 
condition

•	 Incapacity of the employee due to a serious health condition.

•	 Military Leave

Additional leave laws may apply to you depending upon your 
specific state and if you or a dependent or a military member. 
Whenever possible leave must be requested in advance. If you 
have questions about FMLA or any leave requests, please contact 
Human Resources.

Patient Protection Notice
The Plan generally allows the designation of a primary care 
provider. You have the right to designate any primary care provider 
who participates in our network and who is available to accept you 
or your family members. For children, you may designate a 
pediatrician as the primary care provider. For information on how to 
select a primary care provider, and for a list of the participating 
primary care providers, contact the medical carrier listed under 
“Contacts” in this Guide.

You do not need prior authorization from the medical carrier or from 
any other person (including a primary care provider) in order to 
obtain access to obstetrical or gynecological care from a healthcare 
professional in our network who specializes in obstetrics or 
gynecology. The healthcare professional, however, may be 
required to comply with certain procedures, including obtaining 
prior authorization for certain services, following a pre-approved 
treatment plan, or procedures for making referrals. For a list of 
participating healthcare professionals who specialize in obstetrics 
or gynecology, contact the medical carrier listed under “Contacts” 
in this Guide.
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We understand the importance and sensitivity of 

your personal health information, and we have 

security in place to protect it. Access to your 

information is limited to those who need it to 

perform assigned tasks. We restrict access to 

work areas and use locking filing cabinets and 

password-protected computer systems. We 

follow all federal and state laws that govern the 

use of your health information. We use your 

health information in written, oral, and electronic 

formats (and allow others to use it) only as 

permitted by federal and state laws. These laws 

give you certain rights regarding your health 

information.

We participate in organized healthcare 

arrangements (OHCAs) with other entities 

including but not limited to, Intermountain 

Healthcare entities, The Intermountain Life and 

Health Benefit Plan, and the University of Utah 

Medical Group (with respect to certain defined 

pediatric specialty services). These OHCA 

members share information for treatment, 

payment and healthcare operations to improve, 

manage, and coordinate your care.

To learn more about activities and see a current 

list of all OHCA members, visit https://
selecthealth.org/plans/individual/services/
Pages/ohca.aspx.

YOUR HEALTH INFORMATION RIGHTS

You may:

• Review and get a paper copy of your policy or 
claims records as allowed by law, usually within 30 
days of your request (you can also ask us to 
provide a copy in electronic form, and we will do 
that if we can readily produce it).

• Request and be provided a paper copy of our 
current Notice of Privacy Practices, or receive an 
electronic copy by email if you have agreed to 
receive an electronic copy.

• Ask us to contact you at a specific address or 
phone number if contacting you at your current 
address or phone number could endanger you.

• Request and receive an accounting, as specified 
by law, of certain situations when your information 
was shared without your consent.

• Receive a notice if SelectHealth or one of its  
Business Associates causes a breach of your 
unsecured information.

• Report a privacy concern and be assured that we 
will investigate your concern thoroughly, 
supporting you appropriately, and not retaliate 
against you in any way (in fact, SelectHealth will 
provide you with information on how to report 
any privacy concerns to the SelectHealth Privacy 
Coordinator, the Intermountain Corporate Privacy 
Office, or the Office for Civil Rights, U. S. 
Department of Health and Human Services). 

• Request in writing other restrictions on the use  
of your health information or amendments to  
your health information if you think it is wrong, 
though we may not always be able to grant  
these requests.

Protecting Your Privacy 
This notice describes how medical information about you may be used and 

disclosed and how you can access this information. Please review it carefully.
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HOW YOUR HEALTH INFORMATION  
IS USED

Common Uses of Health Information 

As we provide health insurance benefits, we will 

gather some of your health information. The law 

allows us to use or share this health information 

for the following purposes. 

• To receive payment of health coverage premiums 
and to determine and fulfill our responsibility to 
provide you benefits. For example, to make 
coverage determinations, administer claims, and 
coordinate benefits with other coverage you 
may have. 

• To improve the overall Intermountain system as 
well as to help better manage your care. For 
example, Intermountain has programs in place to 
manage the treatment of chronic conditions, such 
as diabetes or asthma, and as part of these 
programs, we share information with affiliated 
providers and Intermountain Healthcare to 
facilitate improved coordination of the care you 
may receive for these conditions. 

• To support healthcare providers in providing 
treatment. 

• To share in limited circumstances health 
information with your plan sponsor. However, 
SelectHealth will only do so if the plan sponsor 
specifically requests health information for the 
administration of your health plan and agrees in 
writing not to use your health information for 
employment-related actions or decisions. 

• To identify health-related services that may be 
beneficial to your health and then contact you 
about these services. 

• To request your support for improving healthcare 
by contributing to one of Intermountain’s 
charitable foundations. (If you don’t want to be 
contacted for this purpose or other fundraising 
communications, call Intermountain’s Privacy 
Office at 800 442-4845 to let us know). 

• To improve our services to you by allowing 
companies with whom we contract, called 
“business associates,” to perform certain 
specialized work for us. The law requires these 
business associates to protect your health 
information and obey the same privacy laws that 
we do. 

• To perform a very limited, specific type of 
healthrelated research, where the researcher 
keeps any patient-identifiable information safe 

and confidential. Intermountain reviews every 
research request to make sure your privacy is 
appropriately protected before sharing any health 
information. 

• To law enforcement, but only as authorized by law 
(e.g., to investigate a crime against SelectHealth 
or any of its members).

Required Uses of Health Information

The law sometimes requires us to share 

information for specific purposes, including the 

following: 

• To the Department of Health to report 
communicable diseases, traumatic injuries, or birth 
defects, or for vital statistics, such as a baby’s birth. 

• To a funeral director or an organ-donation agency 
when a patient dies, or to a medical examiner 
when appropriate to investigate a suspicious 
death. 

• To state authorities to report child or elderly 
abuse.

• To law enforcement. 

• To a correctional institution, if a member is an 
inmate, to ensure the correctional institution’s 
safety. 

• To the Secret Service or NSA to protect, for 
example, the country or the President.

• To a medical device’s manufacturer, as required by 
the FDA, to monitor the safety of a medical 
device.

• To court officers, as required by law, in response 
to a court order or a valid subpoena.

• To governmental authorities to prevent serious 
threats to the public’s health or safety.

• To governmental agencies and other affected 
parties, to report a breach of health-information 
privacy.

• To a worker’s compensation program if a person  
is injured at work and claims benefits under  
that program.

Uses According to Your Requests

Your preferences matter. If you let us know how 

you want us to disclose your information in the 

following situation, we will follow your directions. 

You decide if you want us to share any health or 

payment information related to your care with  

your family members or friends. Please let us 
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know what you want us to share. If you can’t tell 

us what health or payment information you want 

us to share, we may use our professional 

judgment to decide what to share with your 

family or friends for them to be able to help you.

Uses with Your Authorization

Any sharing of your health information, other 

than as explained above, requires your written 

authorization. For example, we will not use your 

health information unless you authorize us in 

writing to:

• share any of your health information with
marketing companies.

• sell any of your health information.

You can change your mind at any time about 

sharing your health information. Simply notify us 

in writing. Please understand that we may not be 

able to get back health information that was 

shared before you changed your mind.

When enrolling for health insurance coverage on 

selecthealth.org you are giving permission for 

SelectHealth to collect the necessary PII to assist 

in enrolling you for coverage. Providing PII for 

the purposes of seeking health insurance 

coverage/enrollment is a voluntary submission 

of PII under the applicable law.  If you do not 

provide all the necessary PII SelectHealth may 

not be able verify your eligibility for APTC and 

CSR subsidies or other enrollment options.  

SelectHealth will collect and uses this 

information in accordance with the permissible 

functions outlined in Federal regulations and 

agreements between CMS. This information may 

be shared with the Federally Facilitated 

Marketplace to verify your eligibility 

for coverage.

SPECIAL LEGAL PROTECTIONS FOR 
CERTAIN HEALTH INFORMATION

SelectHealth complies with federal laws that 

require extra protection for your health 

information if you receive treatment in an 

addiction treatment program, or from a 

psychotherapist who keeps notes on your 

therapy that are kept outside of your regular 

medical record. 

SelectHealth is prohibited from using or 

disclosing genetic information for underwriting 

purposes. 

IF YOU STILL HAVE QUESTIONS 

Our Privacy Coordinator can help you with any 

questions you may have about the privacy of  

your health information. He can also address any 

privacy concerns you may have about your 

health information and can help you fill out any 

forms that are needed to exercise your privacy 

rights. 

This privacy notice became effective on May 26, 

2015. We may change this privacy notice at any 

time, and we may use new ways to protect your 

health information. We always post our current 

privacy notice on selecthealth.org.

You can request a copy of this notice by visiting 

our website or calling our Privacy Office at 

801-442-7253.

This notice of privacy practices describes the 

practices of SelectHealth and of our employees 

and volunteers. (For more information about the 

specific privacy practices of Intermountain 

Healthcare and its employees or volunteers 

working in its hospitals, clinics, doctors’ offices  

or service departments, please contact them 

directly by visiting intermountainhealthcare.org,  

or by calling Intermountain’s Privacy Office at 
800-442-4845.)
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